Legislative Commission on Data Practices Minutes

Tuesday, July 8, 2014 State Office Building, Room 5 9:00 AM

Members Present:
Rep. Holberg, Chair
Sen. Dibble, Vice Chair
Sen. Kent
Rep. Lesch
Sen. Limmer
Rep. Scott
Rep. Simonson

Members Excused: Sen. Petersen

Rep. Holberg called the meeting of the Legislative Commission on Data Practices to order at 9:07 AM on Tuesday, July 8, 2014 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Members introduced themselves.

Matt Gehring, House Research, provided an overview of the make-up and the mission of the Legislative Data Practices Commission.

Laurie Beyer-Kropuenske, Director, Community Services Division, Department of Administration, and Stacie Christensen, Information Policy Analysis Division (IPAD) Administrator, presented an overview of IPAD and the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act.

Election of officers

Sen. Dibble nominated Rep. Holberg for the position of chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Scott moved the Commission elect a vice chair for the term of the Commission. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Scott nominated Sen. Dibble for the position of vice chair for the 2014 term. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Members then discussed possible future agenda items.
The following people provided public testimony on agenda items:
Rich Neumeister, Citizen
Kurtis Hanna, Citizen
Bryan Olson, Citizen
Don Gemberling, Data Privacy and Openness in Government Consultant
Rep. Holberg announced the discussion of the addition of non-voting members to the Commission will
be held at the next meeting.
The meeting adjourned at 11:29 AM.
Rep. Mary Liz Holberg, Chair
Sally Olson, Commission Assistant