

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of Minnesota Secretary of State Mark Ritchie

October 28, 2013

Speaker Paul Thissen Chair, Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy 463 State Office Building 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard Saint Paul MN 55155

Dear Speaker Thissen,

This letter is in response to your request for information about the Voting Systems Contract Advisory Committee. My apologies for the delay in responding on behalf of the Office of the Secretary of State.

As your request noted, this group expired June 30, 2009, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §15.059, subd. 5. The group mission was to advise the secretary of state prior to the state entering into any statewide voting systems contracts. The group met once, on July 12, 2005, prior to the 2005 state voting systems contract negotiations, which remains the most recent contract. The group had no separate budget. There are no reports that were generated by the group, nor did it have a website. A list of the members is attached. The total mileage provided for the group members submitting requests for that meeting was \$912.47.

Sincerely,

Bert Black Legal Advisor

Office of the Secretary of State

VEPAC ATTENDEES

Mary Israelson Northern Township Clerk

Dorothy McClung Ramsey County Director, Property Records and Revenue

> Greg Engdahl City of Saint Cloud Clerk

Diane Teff Senior Elections Specialist Anoka County

Ms. Rebecca Kragnes

Steve Klepsa Voter Registration and Elections Manager Sherburne County Mr. Steven Jacobson

Rosalie Miller Election Administrator Wadena County Mr. Thomas Ferber City Clerk City of Bloomington

Judy Sersha Clerk-Treasurer Fayal Township Ms. Susanne Griffin Director of Elections City of Minneapolis

Jeff Schilling Morrison County Commissioner Mr. Mike Podulke Olmsted County Commissioner Ms. Laura Elvebak Program Administrator MN Valley Council of Governments Mr. Eric Lipman Interim Legal Counsel Office of the Governor

Ms. Debby Erickson Crow Wing County Mr. Ian Alexander Assistant Legal Counsel Office of the Governor

Ms. Carol Leonard Dakota County Treasurer-Auditor

Mr. Ken Rodgers

Ms. Shirl Boelter Fillmore County Election Administrator Ms. Mai Thor Minnesota Disability Law Center

Mr. Greg Peterson Planning Director Office of Enterprise Technology

Ms. Colleen Anderson City Clerk, City of Bethel

Ms. Lea Halverson Materials Management Department of Administration Ms. Carolyn Curti Communications Specialist/ Elections Coordinator

Ms. Peggy Carlson

Representative Bill Hilty

Representative Torrey Westrom

Ms. Penny Steele Hennepin County Commissioner Andrew Koebrick

Mr. Arlen Erdahl President, Stassen, Stern & Erdahl, International, L.L.C.

Ms. Rhonda Sivarajah Anoka County Commissioner

Mr. Tom Workman Carver County Commissioner

Senator Patricia Pariseau

Ms. Elaine Voss

Juanita Peterson League of WomenVoters

Mr. Booker T. Hodges, IV