

Legislative Coordinating Commission

72 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone: (651) 296-9002 Fax: (651) 297-3697

7 TDD (651) 296-9896

House

Representative Kurt Daudt, Chair Representative Lyndon Carlson Representative Joe Hoppe Representative Jenifer Loon Representative Joyce Peppin Representative Paul Thissen Senate Senator Sandy Pappas, Vice Chair Senator Tom Bakk Senator Gary Dahms Senator Chris Eaton Senator David Hann Senator James Metzen

DATE: November 16, 2015

TO: Members of the Legislative Coordinating Commission

FROM: Greg Hubinger

RE: Ethnic Council director appointments

Background. The LCC is scheduled to meet November 19th to consider the appointment of directors for three state ethnic councils. The LCC's role in making these appointments was one component in legislation included in the State Government Finance Appropriations bill that re-structured these councils. The three councils are:

Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans

Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage

Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs

The legislation is attached.

Process. As provided in the legislation, non-partisan staff from the House Research Department, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis, and the LCC worked with members from each of the three ethnic councils throughout the search process. Staff from Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) and the Department of Administration's SMART (Small Agency Resource Team) were also heavily involved.

Key steps in the search process included:

- Consult with leadership staff from House and Senate majority and minority caucuses to establish the search process.
- Consult with the three ethnic councils regarding:
 - Skills and abilities director candidates should possess
 - Proposed position description
 - Search process

- Work with MMB and the SMART team to post the vacancy on the state employee application web site
- Post the vacancies widely:
 - Monster.com
 - Minnesota Council on Non-Profits jobs web site
 - Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development jobs site
 - Minority community newspapers
 - Numerous community organizations
- Establish three search committees, one for each council, which consisted of three council members, and three non-partisan legislative staff. These three search committees each:
 - Reviewed all applications.
 - Identified candidates for initial interviews
 - Conducted initial interviews
 - Forwarded candidates to the LCC Subgroup.
- An LCC Subgroup (consisting of one legislator or chief of staff from each of the four caucuses) conducted second interviews, and forwarded finalists to the Legislative Coordinating Commission. Reference checks were conducted on each of the candidates selected for second interviews.

Resumes for the three candidates forwarded by the LCC Subgroup are attached. The candidates will be present at the LCC meeting.

Attach: Chapter 77 excerpt Candidate resumes

Staff Groups. The following legislative staff participated in various aspects of the search process: Patrick McCormack, House Research Greg Knopf, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis Tom Bottern, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis Mark Shepard, House Research Ben Weeks, House Research Matt Gehring, House Research Pat Dalton, House Research Stephanie James, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis Carlon Doyle-Fontaine, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis Sally Olson, Legislative Coordinating Commission Diane Henry-Wangensteen, Legislative Coordinating Commission Kasey Gerkovich, Legislative Coordinating Commission

These Executive Branch staff participated in various aspects of the search process: Laura Sengil, Small Agency Resource Team, Department of Administration Christie Eller, Office of the Attorney General Katie Troyer, Office of the Governor Eric Hallstrom, Minnesota Management and Budget Kevin Lindsey, Department of Human Rights Anika Ward, Minnesota Management and Budget Lenora Madigan, Department of Administration