# Compensation Council March 2, 2023 10:00 AM

# **MEETING MINUTES**

Members Present:
Sam Kaplan, Chair
Nick Zerwas, Vice Chair
David Asp
Richard Cohen
Devin Driscoll
Peter Gregory
Noah Hobbs
Amy Koch
Amanda Matchett
Bob Meyerson
Nick Morgan
Amber Nagvi

Members Excused: Susan Holden Charlie Weaver

Jason Resseman Scott Van Binsbergen

Sam Kaplan, convener, called the meeting of the Compensation Council to order at 10:04 AM in Room 230 of the Judicial Center. A quorum was present.

#### **Introduction of members**

Members introduced themselves.

# Adopt agenda

Jason Resseman moved approval of the agenda. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

#### **Election of Chair and Vice Chair**

Bob Meyerson nominated Sam Kaplan for the position of council chair. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Asp, Cohen, Gregory, Hobbs, Kaplan, Matchett, Meyerson, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Zerwas

There being 12 Ayes and 4 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Scott Van Binsbergen nominated Nick Zerwas for the position of vice chair.

Ayes: Asp, Cohen, Gregory, Hobbs, Kaplan, Koch, Matchett, Meyerson, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Zerwas

There being 13 Ayes and 3 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

# **Duties of the Compensation Council**

Stephanie James, Senate Counsel and Research, presented an overview of the statutory duties of the Compensation Council. Ms. James also presented information related to the total compensation packages for constitutional officers and judges.

#### **Agency Head Salary Ranges**

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC), presented an overview on agency head salaries within the Council's jurisdiction.

# Minnesota Management and Budget overview

Dori Leland, Compensation and Classification Director, Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB), presented an overview on agency head salaries speaking to the challenges the executive branch faces with limits for salary, proposed potential legislative changes, and MMB's recommendations related to agency head salaries.

Jim Schowalter, Commissioner, MMB, and Erin Campbell, Deputy Commissioner, MMB, addressed council member questions related to agency head salaries, potential legislative changes related to the Compensation Council and MMB's recommendations.

Commissioner Schowalter presented an overview of the official duties of the Governor and Lieutenant Governor.

#### **Open Meeting Law & Data Practices Act**

Taya Moxley-Goldsmith, Director, Data Practices Office, presented an overview of the Open Meeting Law and the Minnesota Data Practices Act.

# **Consider proposed policies**

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public.

Jason Resseman moved to adopt the Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public. Seconded. A roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Hobbs, Kaplan, Koch, Matchett, Meyerson, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

Ms. Weber presented the proposed Compensation Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

Jason Resseman moved to adopt the Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded. A roll call vote was taken.

Ayes: Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Hobbs, Kaplan, Koch, Matchett, Meyerson, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent. The Motion Prevailed.

# **Disposition of 2021 Recommendations**

Greg Hubinger, LCC staff, presented an overview of the outcomes of the Compensation Council's 2021 recommendations.

# **Council Discussion**

Council members discussed the next meeting, presenters, and information that they would like to be provided to the Council.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:15 PM.