Compensation Council March 23, 2023 10:00 AM

MEETING MINUTES

Members Present:

Sam Kaplan, Chair
Nick Zerwas, Vice Chair
David Asp
Richard Cohen
Devin Driscoll
Peter Gregory
Noah Hobbs
Susan Holden
Amy Koch
Amanda Matchett
Bob Meyerson
Nick Morgan
Amber Nagvi

Sam Kaplan, Chair, called the meeting of the Compensation Council to order at 10:03 AM in Room G-23 of the State Capitol. A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

Jason Resseman Scott Van Binsbergen

Charlie Weaver

Jason Resseman moved approval of the minutes from the March 16, 2023 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Council Salary Recommendations

Members discussed potential recommendations relating to judicial salaries.

Devin Driscoll moved to take from the table the Driscoll motion that the Compensation Council recommend for judges a 9% salary increase effective July 1, 2023 and a 6% salary increase effective July 1, 2024. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Koch, Matchett, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

Abstain: Meyerson

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays, 1 Abstention and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

A roll call vote was taken on the Driscoll motion. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Koch, Matchett, Morgan, Naqvi, Weaver, Zerwas

Nays: Resseman, Van Binsbergen

There being 14 Ayes, 2 Nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Members discussed the salaries of the constitutional officers.

Senator Cohen moved the Council recommend the salaries of constitutional officers be decoupled from the salary of the governor and that no other constitutional officer shall receive a salary higher than the governor. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Meyerson, Morgan, Weaver, Zerwas

Nays: Koch, Matchett, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen

There being 11 Ayes, 5 Nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Nick Zerwas moved the Compensation Council recommend for constitutional officers a 9% salary increase effective July 1, 2023 and a 6% salary increase effective July 1, 2024 and that the Secretary of State receive the same salary as the State Auditor. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Asp, Gregory, Morgan, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

Nays: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi

There being 7 Ayes, 8 Nays, and 1 Absent. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Devin Driscoll moved to recommend the Secretary of State receive the same salary as the State Auditor and to recommend the salaries for constitutional officers be adjusted to the following effective July 1, 2023: \$150,000 for the Governor; \$145,000 for the Attorney General; \$130,000

for the State Auditor and the Secretary of State and \$100,000 for the Lieutenant Governor. Seconded.

Devin Driscoll withdrew his motion.

Susan Holden moved the Compensation Council recommend constitutional officers receive a 9% salary increase effective July 1, 2023; a 7.5% salary increase effective July 1, 2024; and the Secretary of State receive the same salary as the State Auditor. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Meyerson, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Weaver, Zerwas

Nays: Matchett, Van Binsbergen

There being 13 Ayes, 2 Nays and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Members then discussed agency head salaries.

Dori LeLand, Minnesota Management and Budget, addressed Council member questions.

Jason Ressemen moved to table Council discussion on the recommendations related to agency heads. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Asp, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Morgan, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

Nays: Cohen, Matchett, Naqvi

Abstain: Meyerson

There being 11 Ayes, 3 Nays, 1 Abstention and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Governor/MMB proposed Compensation Council statute changes

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, provided an overview of legislation that had been introduced that makes changes to the Compensation Council's statute.

Tom Berg, former Compensation Council Chair, and James Robinson, former Compensation Council member, provided testimony on the legislation that makes changes to the Compensation Council's statute.

Members discussed the proposed legislation.

Scott Van Binsbergen moved to table the discussion. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Resseman, Van Binsbergen

Nays: Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi, Weaver, Zerwas

There being 2 Ayes, 14 Nays and 2 Absent, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Chair Kaplan moved the Compensation Council support legislation that creates an entity to set the salaries of constitutional officers and judicial officers without action by the legislature. Seconded.

Jason Resseman moved to amend the motion to recommend a four-year term limit for Compensation Council members. Seconded.

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

A roll call vote was taken on the Kaplan motion as amended. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Susan Holden moved to authorize staff to prepare the report based on the action taken by the Council during today's meeting and include any technical changes that are necessary. The draft report shall be circulated to Council members for review and comment prior to submission. The Chair and Vice Chair are authorized to approve and work with staff to submit the final report. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Jason Resseman moved to authorize staff to prepare and the chair to approve the minutes from today's meeting. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Kaplan, Cohen, Driscoll, Gregory, Holden, Hobbs, Matchett, Meyerson, Naqvi, Resseman, Van Binsbergen, Weaver, Zerwas

There being 14 Ayes and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:30 PM.