

Frontline Worker Pay Working Group

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Hybrid Meeting
Room G-3 State Capitol and Remote via Zoom
12:00 PM

Members Present

Representative Ryan Winkler, Chair Representative Cedrick Frazier Representative Anne Neu Brindley Senator Karin Housley, Vice Chair Senator Mary Kiffmeyer Senator Erin Murphy Commissioner Robert Doty (via Zoom) Commissioner Steve Grove (via Zoom) Commissioner Roslyn Robertson

Representative Winkler, convener, called the meeting of the Frontline Worker Pay Working Group to order at 12:03 PM in Room G-3 of the State Capitol.

A quorum was present.

Working Group members and staff introduced themselves.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Representative Winkler nominated Senator Housley for the position of Vice Chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Senator Housley nominated Representative Winkler for the position of Chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Nonpartisan House and Senate Staff Presentation

Bjorn Arneson, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis, and Carlon Doyle Fontaine, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis, presented an overview for the Working Group which included a review of the establishment and duties of the Working Group, background

information on the State Fiscal Recovery Funds and American Rescue Plan, and information related to the Minnesota Frontline and Essential Worker frameworks.

Public Testimony

The following people provided public testimony either in person or remotely via Zoom:

Mary Turner, President, Minnesota Nurses Association

Karin Swenson, Childcare Provider, Kids Count On Us Coalition Member

Emilio Gonzles, Food Production Worker

Michelle Seydel, Special Education and Educational Support Professional, Education Minnesota

Karla Frederickson, Nursing Home Sector, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota

Paul Swanson, Grocery, UFCW International Union Local 1189

Eva Lopez, Janitor, SEIU Local 26

Antonio Jimenez, Meat Packing, UFCW International Union Local 1189

Gene Sparks, EMT, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota

Xavier Heim, Security Officer, SEIU Local 26

Antonietta Giovanni, Home Care Worker, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota

Adam Dahmen-Sikkink, Youth Worker, AspireMN

Darla Swanson, Foster Parent, AspireMN

Lester Terry, Grocery, UFCW International Union Local 1189

Eloy Wood, Meat Packing, UFCW International Union Local 1189

Brian Splatt, Traditional Care Unit Nurse, Long-Term Care Imperative

Kim Stolzman, Director of Nursing Services, Good Samaritan Society-Ambassador, Long-Term Care Imperative

Danielle Salisbury, Eagle Crest Campus Administrator, Long-Term Care Imperative

Dan Colgan, Administrator, Redeemer Health Care Center, Long-Term Care Imperative Lori Smith, School Food Service, SEIU Local 284

Cleveland Donazal, Former Storekeeper, Bethesda Hospital, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota

Mary Krinkie, Vice President of Government Relations, Minnesota Hospital Association

John Hausladen, President, Minnesota Trucking Association

Char VanBergern, Educational Support Professional, Education Minnesota

TJ Hodges, Fleet Mechanic, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 49

Ashley Erickson, Certified Medical Assistant, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota

Amanda Jaeger, Executive Director, Minnesota Foster and Adoptive Families

Clare Sandford, Director of Government & Community Relations, Minnesota Child Care Association

Asher Gavzy, President and CEO, Property Solution & Services

Edward Reynoso, Political Director, Teamsters Joint Council 32

Working Group Discussion and Next Steps

Members discussed the charge of the Working Group as well as the data and additional information that could be provided to the Working Group at future meetings.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:51 PM.