Minnesota Autism Spectrum Disorder Taskforce

November 20th, 2012 – 9:30 a.m. 123 State Capitol

Members Present

Brad Trahan Sen. David Senjem Rep. Nora Slawik Sen. Chris Eaton Dr. Troy Hanson Dr. Michael Reiff Dawn Steigauf Regina Wagner Barb Dalbec Abbie Wells-Herzog Dr. Kimberly Klein Dr. David Griffin Jody Manning Phil Sievers

Members Absent

Renee Ouillette Idil Abdull Dr. Catherine Pulkinen Rep. Tara Mack Heather Hanson

Meeting was called to order at 9:40 a.m.

Chair Trahan introduced Dr. Troy Hanson as the newest member of the taskforce. Dr. Hanson represents the Minnesota Association of Family Physicians and is a family practice doctor in New Prague, MN.

The facilitator, Barb Demming, presented on the Strategic Plan and discussed the draft vision and strategies. Barb reviewed the main bullet points of the plan and asked for suggestions/changes from the task force. Chair Trahan made a motion to approve the final draft of the plan and the plan was adopted.

Chair Trahan then began discussion on the top three items the task force would like to see in the Governor's budget. They were a unified website and the funding to develop it, funding for a formal commission, and coverage of autism services. Closing remarks were made by the task force members and it was the general conclusion that a lot of great work has been done in moving the strategic plan forward.

Next Meeting TBD

Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 11:39 a.m.