Minnesota Autism Spectrum Disorder Taskforce

May 1, 2012 6:00 p.m. SOB 400 South

Members Present

Brad Trahan (Chair) Dawn Steigauf Jody Manning Regina Wagner Barb Dalbec Renee Ouillette Idil Abdull Dr. Catherine Pulkinen Phil Sievers Rep. Tara Mack Dr. Kimberly Klein Dr. Michael Reiff

Members Absent

Rep. Nora Slawik Sen. David Senjem Sen. Chris Eaton Abbie Wells-Herzog Heather Hanson Dr. David Griffin

Meeting was called to order at 6:05 p.m.

Members representing the departments gave brief updates on what their respective department has been working on.

Discussion of the Draft Plan

Brad discussed the conference call with Phil Sievers from the Department of Education and Amy Hewitt and Jennifer Hall-Lande, both from the University of Minnesota. The following topics were discussed on the conference call: The need to review the last task force's report to the Legislature by the Region 5 group, use of a facilitator, the development of a subcommittee to work with members of the Region 5 group and the University of Minnesota, and a recommendation that the U of M group and current task force look at what other states are doing in regards to their state plans.

It was decided that there would be a subcommittee formed to work on the state plan. Members who volunteered for the subcommittee included: Renee Ouillette, Dr. Klein, Dr. Reiff, Amy Hewitt, Tim Moore, Jennifer Hall-Lande and Brad Trahan.

Next Meetings Tuesday, June 5th at 9:00 a.m. in Room 123 of the State Capitol Tuesday, July 10th at 6:00 p.m. in Room 123 of the State Capitol (tentative) Tuesday, August 7th at 9:00 a.m. in Room 123 of the State Capitol (tentative)

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:50 p.m.