Elections Emergency Planning Task Force July 29, 2015 2:00 PM

Members Present Secretary Steve Simon, Chair Debby Erickson, Vice Chair Major Taylor Cox Rep. Kelly Fenton Margot Imdieke Cross Kevin Leuer (designee for Joe Kelly) Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer Barret Lane Lucinda Messman Gary Poser Barb Proulx Sen. Katie Sieben Grace Wachlarowicz

Members Excused Rep. Mike Nelson

Secretary of State Steve Simon called the meeting of the Elections Emergency Planning Task Force to order at 2:02 pm in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Task force members introduced themselves and shared their expectations for the task force.

Secretary Simon requested nominations for the position of chair. Debby Erickson nominated Secretary Simon for the position of chair. Sen. Sieben seconded the motion. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Secretary Simon requested nominations for the position of vice chair. Grace Wachlarowicz nominated Debby Erickson for the positon of vice chair. Gary Poser seconded the motion. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Secretary Simon presented an overview of the enabling legislation for the Elections Emergency Planning Task Force and reviewed their duties and report requirements.

Secretary Simon presented a proposed work plan and meeting schedule for the Elections Emergency Planning Task Force.

Julie Strother, Office of the Secretary of State, presented an overview of the current laws governing emergencies and elections.

John Milhofer presented an overview of the work of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) Task Force on Emergency Preparedness for Elections and presented an overview of their report *State Laws & Practices for the Emergency Management of Elections.* Mr. Milhofer stood for questions.

Members then provided input on topics they would like to see come before the task force, which included an overview on continuity planning and an overview on how elections are managed in Minnesota.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:43 PM.

Secretary Steve Simon, Chair

Sally Olson, Commission Assistant