# Legislative Coordinating Commission Ethnic Heritage and New Americans Working Group Friday, February 15, 2008 10:00 AM Room 107, Capitol

# **PRESENT**

EXCUSED
John Poupart

Representative Paul Gardner Representative Rod Hamilton Senator Joe Gimse Senator Patricia Torres Ray Gloria Contreras-Edin Dr. Bruce Corrie John Keller Peter Sadowski Joe Swedberg

Greg Hubinger, Director of the Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC), called the meeting of the Ethnic Heritage and New Americans Working Group to order at 10:17 am. A quorum was present.

Members introduced themselves and noted which body appointed them to the Working Group. Mr. Hubinger reviewed the resolution adopted by the Legislative Coordinating Commission that established the Working Group.

### **Election of House and Senate Co-Chairs**

Rep. Hamilton nominated Sen. Torres Ray for the position of co-chair. Joe Swedberg nominated Rep. Rod Hamilton as co-chair. A joint motion was taken that Sen. Torres Ray and Rep. Hamilton serve as co-chairs of the Ethnic Heritage and New American Working Group. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.** 

Sen. Torres Ray took over as Chair of the meeting.

## **Presentation: Ethnic Heritage in Minnesota**

Tom Gillaspy, Minnesota State Demographer, gave an overview of the new American population in Minnesota. Mr. Gillaspy reviewed alternative definitions of the new American population including immigration, foreign born and unauthorized migrant population. He also gave an overview of the history, trends, characteristics and driving forces causing change in Minnesota as related to the new American population. Mr. Gillaspy stood for questions. Discussion ensued.

# Discussion of Working Group goals and expectations by members

Members discussed Working Group goals, the scope of work before the Working Group, the information that would be needed to complete the work and methods by which to obtain needed information.

Members discussed form subcommittees to look at different aspects of their work which include: a business subcommittee, a cultural heritage subcommittee and a policy subcommittee.

### **Business Subcommittee Members:**

Sen. Joe Gimse Joe Swedberg Pete Sadowski Dr. Bruce Corrie Gloria Contreras-Edin Rep. Rod Hamilton

# **Cultural Heritage Subcommittee Members:**

Sen. Patricia Torres Ray Rep. Paul Gardner John Poupart

# **Policy Subcommittee Members:**

Gloria Contreras-Edin Rep. Rod Hamilton John Keller

Mr. Swedberg suggested members compose a list of the objectives they would like the Working Group to accomplish. Sen. Torres Ray requested members e-mail their lists of objectives to the Legislative Coordinating Commission.

There being no further business, Sen. Torre	s Ray adjourned the meeting at 12:10 PM.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray, Co-Chair	Representative Rod Hamilton, Co-Chair