Legislative Coordinating Commission Resolution Establishing the Working Group on Ethnic Heritage and New Americans

moves that the Legislative Coordinating Commission adopt the following

resolution:

Be it Resolved, by the Legislative Coordinating Commission of the State of Minnesota:

Authority. The Working Group on Ethnic Heritage and New Americans is established under authority provided in Minnesota Statutes 3.303, Subdivisions 1 and 8, and 3.305, Subdivision 6.

Membership. The Working Group on Ethnic Heritage and New Americans (Working Group) consists of:

- **a.** two members of the House of Representatives, including one member of the minority party, appointed by the Speaker;
- **b.** two members of the Senate, including one member of the minority party, appointed by the Senate Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration;
- **c.** three public members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and
- **d.** three public members appointed by the Senate Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Organization. The Director of the Legislative Coordinating Commission shall convene the first meeting of the Working Group, at which the Working Group shall elect its co-chairs, a senator and a representative.

Duties. As provided in Minnesota Statutes 3.303, Subdivision 8, the Working Group must undertake activities it determines are necessary to assist state government to foster an understanding and appreciation of ethnic and cultural diversity in Minnesota, to identify underutilized resources within the immigrant community, and to facilitate the full participation of immigrants in social, cultural, and political life in this state.

Expenses; Support.

- **a.** The Legislative Coordinating Commission may pay per diems and reimburse travel expenses Working Group members incur in carrying out their work.
- **b.** Appropriate staff of the LCC, the House, and Senate must provide support to the Working Group.

Expiration. The Working Group expires December 31, 2010.

Adopted March 4, 2010