## Electronic Roster Task Force Meeting Minutes July 9, 2013

Members Present:
Debby Erickson
Senator Kiffmeyer
Representative Laine
David Maeda
Patricia McCormack
Commissioner Parnell
Gary Poser
Secretary Ritchie
Grace Wachlarowicz

Members Excused: Senator Bonoff Representative O'Driscoll Barb Welty

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie convened the first meeting of the Electronic Roster Task Force on Tuesday, July 9, 2013 at 9:58 AM in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Task Force members, staff and audience members introduced themselves.

Secretary Ritchie requested nominations for the position of chair. Debby Erickson nominated Secretary Ritchie. Representative Laine seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. The vote was taken and Secretary Ritchie was elected chair.

Secretary Ritchie requested nominations for the position of vice chair. David Maeda nominated Debby Erickson. Gary Poser seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. The vote was taken and Debby Erickson was elected vice chair.

Max Hailperin presented on the use of electronic rosters for pre-registered voters.

David Maeda presented an overview on the use of electronic poll books in the City of Minnetonka.

Gary Poser provided an update on the Electronic Roster Pilot Project.

Max Hailperin presented on the use of vote centers in other states.

Members reviewed the proposed work plan and the potential meeting schedule. The next meeting of the Task Force will be held on Thursday, August 15<sup>th</sup> from 10 am to 12 pm. It was decided not to adopt the full meeting schedule until all members could provide input.

Secretary Ritchie reviewed the focus and agenda for the second and third meetings of the task force.

Dennis Parrot, Jasper County Auditor, and Ken Kline, Cerro Gordo County Auditor, presented an overview and demonstration of Precinct Atlas, the precinct election management system developed by Cerro Gordo County in Iowa.

The meeting adjourned at 11:49 am.