## HEALTH CARE ACCESS COMMISSION

## **MINUTES**

Senator Linda Berglin, called the Health Care Access Commission to order at 9:10 a.m. on Wednesday, November 14, 2007, in Room 15 of the State Capitol, St. Paul Minnesota.

The secretary noted the roll.

Members Present:

Sen. Berglin, Co-Chair Sen. Koering Sen. Lourey

Rep. Huntley, Co-Chair Rep. Abeler Rep. Loeffler Rep. Thissen

Members Absent:

Sen. Marty Sen. Rosen

Rep. Gottwalt

Other Members Present:

Sen. Erickson Ropes Sen. Lynch Sen. M. Olson Sen. Sheran

Rep. Bunn Rep. Fritz Rep. Laine

A quorum was present.

The Health Care Access Commission Work Groups presented their final recommendations as follows:

- A. Bridging the Health Continuum:
  - 1. Senator Kathy Sheran, Chair.
  - 2. Michael Scandrett, Halleland Health Consulting
  - 3. Jan Malcolm, Executive Director, Courage Center

Representative Huntley assumed the chair at 9:30 a.m.

- B. Cost Containment: Restructure the Health Care System through the Identified Savings:
  - 1. Representative Paul Thissen, Co-Chair.
  - 2. Senator Linda Berglin, Co-Chair

- C. Insurance Market Reform:
  - 1. Representative Diane Loeffler, Co-Chair
  - 2. Senator Mary Olson, Co-Chair
- D. Health Care for Long Term Care Workers:
  - 1. Senator Paul Koering, Co-Chair
  - 2. Representative Patti Fritz, Co-Chair
- E. Single Payer Health Care:
  - 1. Representative Ken Tschumper
  - 2. Senator Sharon Erickson Ropes
  - 3. Representative Carolyn Laine, Member of the Working Group
  - 4. John Schwartz, Member of the Working Group
  - 5. Dr. Jim Hart, Member of the Working Group

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Rochelle M. Polansky Legislative Assistant