# DRAFT

## **ELECTRIC ENERGY TASK FORCE**

Work Group Meeting Summary: Tuesday, July 27, 2004, 9:30 a.m. Minnesota West Community & Technical College, Room 127, in Pipestone, MN

### **PRESENT:**

John Lampe, Facilitator
John Fuller, Senate Counsel
Bob Eleff, House Research
Carl Lehmann, Co-Chair of the Steering Committee
Bill Grant, Co-Chair of the Steering Committee
Jack Keers, Steering Committee Member
Bob Ambrose, Steering Committee Member
Dan Juhl, Steering Committee Member
Laura Bordelon, Steering Committee Member
Faye Sparks, Committee Administrator for Sen. Metzen
Sandy Keene, Legislative Coordinating Commission, EETF Staff

Senator Ellen Anderson Senator Gary Kubly Senator Dan Sparks Representative Bob Gunther Representative Doug Magnus Representative Aaron Peterson

The informal Electric Energy Work Group meeting was called to order by John Lampe at 9:30 a.m. Handouts of the Steering Committee Project Summary and 11 questions for discussion were available. Everyone was encouraged to participate in the meeting.

Mr. Lampe announced that anyone wishing to be on the meeting notification distribution list should contact Sandy Keene with the Legislative Coordinating Commission. A signup sheet would be circulated during the meeting. The following is a list of presenters and people who asked questions (the audio is available on the web site at: <a href="https://www.commissions.leg.state.mn.us/leetf/workgroupmtgarchive.htm">www.commissions.leg.state.mn.us/leetf/workgroupmtgarchive.htm</a>):

#### **Session I**

# Speakers:

Dan Juhl, Principal of DanMar & Associates, Inc. George Crocker, Executive Director, North American Water Office

#### Questioners:

Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee
John Fuller, Senate Counsel
David Norgaard, Lincoln County Commissioner
John Wachtler, Minnesota EQB
Bruce Anderson, Renew Northfield
Rolland Kutzbach, Community South
John Jaffrey, Frauenshuh Power
John Ihle, Plain States Energy

#### **Session II**

## Speakers:

Tim Seck, Environmental Project Leader, GRE Raimund Grube, Manager of Business Development, PPM Energy, Portland, OR

#### **Ouestioners:**

Tim Rudnicki, Advocate for Pimicikamak David Norgaard, Lincoln County Commissioner Jim Hallstrom, Martin County Assessor Beth Soholt, Wind on the Wires John Jaffrey, Frauenshuh Power Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Jeff Cook-Coyle, Winergie Leigh Pomeroy, DFL candidate for Congress, First Congressional District Mark Lindquist, Minnesota Project John Ihle, Plain States Energy

#### **Session III**

#### Speakers:

Paul White, Midwest Project Director, EnXco

## **Questioners**:

George Crocker, Executive Director, North American Water Office Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee John Dunlap, American Wind Energy Association John Jaffrey, Frauenshuh Power Loren Lein, Faribault County Commissioner Tim Rudnicki, Advocate for Pimicikamak John Fuller, Senate Counsel

#### **Session IV**

## Speakers:

Price Hatcher, Manager, Renewable Energy Purchases, Excel Energy Mike Hansen, Vice President, First Farmers & Merchants National Bank, Pipestone

## Questioners:

John Jaffrey, Frauenshuh Power Jim Nichols, Lincoln County Commissioner and farmer

#### Session V

#### Speakers:

Beth Soholt, Wind on the Wires

#### Questioners:

Dan Juhl, Principal of DanMar & Associates, Inc., and Steering Committee Member John Ihle, Plain States Energy John Jaffrey, Frauenshuh Power John Dunlap, American Wind Energy Association

There being no further comments or questions, the informal meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:35 p.m.