DRAFT

ELECTRIC ENERGY TASK FORCE

Work Group Meeting Summary Tuesday, September 14, 2004, 9:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. Room 15, State Capitol

PRESENT:

- John Lampe, Facilitator John Fuller, Senate Counsel Bob Eleff, House Research Carl Lehmann, Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Bill Grant, Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Dick Hemmingsen, Steering Committee Member Paul White, Steering Committee Member Mrg Simon, Steering Committee Member Joan Harmon, Rep. Tom Hackbarth's office Faye Sparks, Senator Metzen's office Sandy Keene, Legislative Coordinating Commission Matt Grosser, Senate Research
- Senator Jim Metzen Senator Steve Dille Senator Dan Sparks Senator Ellen Anderson Representative Bob Gunther Representative Torrey Westrom

The informal Electric Energy Work Group meeting was called to order by John Lampe at 9:35 a.m. Mr. Lampe introduced legislators, staff and steering committee members. John Fuller summarized the agenda of the task force and the type of information needed to complete the report, which must be submitted to the Legislature by January 15, 2005. Mr. Fuller stated that a review would be done of topics covered during the work group meetings and significant points would be forwarded to the task force and posted on the Internet. Feedback and comments could then be submitted to Sandy Keene with the Legislative Coordinating Commission. A draft report would be completed and circulated, with a possibility of having a public meeting. The task force has not been consulted regarding the possibility of holding a public meeting, but they may decide to do so.

A signup sheet was circulated during the meeting. The following is a list of presenters and people who asked questions at the September 14th work group meeting (the audio is available on the web site at: www.commissions.leg.state.mn.us/leetf/workgroupmtgarchive.htm):

Overview of Transmission Jurisdictional Issues

John Lawhorn, Midwest Independent System Operator (MISO)

<u>Questioners:</u> John Fuller, Senate Counsel Senator Ellen Anderson, Minnesota Senate Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Bob Eleff, House Research George Crocker, Executive Director, North American Water Office Paul White, Midwest Project Director, EnXco John Rheinhardt, Citizen

Technical Transmission Issues in Minnesota

Rick Gonzalez, Excel Engineering

<u>Questioners:</u> Paul White, Midwest Project Director, EnXco Sheldon Strom, Center for Energy and Environment John Jaffray, Frauenshuh Power Dick Hemmingsen, University of Minnesota and Steering Committee Member

Regional Transmission Expansion Planning – How Minnesota transmission issues fit into the MISO transmission planning process

John Lawhorn, Midwest Independent System Operator (MISO)

Questioners:

John Fuller, Senate Counsel Bob Olson, American Sustainable Energy Council, St. Stephen State Bank Beth Soholt, Wind on the Wires Dick Hemmingsen, University of Minnesota and Steering Committee Member Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee

Minnesota Department of Commerce and Xcel Energy Wind Integration Study Results

Ken Wolf, Minnesota Department of Commerce Matt Schuerger, Energy Systems Consulting Services

Questioners:

Mrg Simon, Missouri River Energy and Steering Committee Member Sheldon Strom, Center for Energy and Environment Carl Lehmann, Xcel Energy and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Representative Torrey Westrom, Minnesota House of Representatives Bob Eleff, House Research Paul White, Midwest Project Director, EnXco Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee John Dunlap, American Wind Energy Association John Rheinhardt, Citizen

Utility Perspective on Transmission Planning

Will Kaul, Great River Energy

Questioners: Sheldon Strom, Center for Energy and Environment John Fuller, Senate Counsel Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Bob Olson, American Sustainable Energy Council, St. Stephen State Bank Beth Soholt, Wind on the Wires

Providing a Road to Market for Wind Development

Michael Noble, Minnesotans for an Energy Efficient Economy

<u>Questioners:</u> Representative Torrey Westrom, Minnesota House of Representatives John Fuller, Senate Counsel Carl Lehmann, Xcel Energy and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee Bill Grant, Izaak Walton League and Co-Chair of the Steering Committee John Jaffray, Frauenshuh Power

Public Comments – Bob Olson, American Sustainable Energy Council, St. Stephen State Bank

There being no further comments or questions, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:35 p.m.