Legislative Water Commission January 12, 2015 Basement Hearing Room State Office Building

Meeting Minutes

Members Present Rep. Dean Rep. Fischer Rep. Johnson Rep. Hamilton Rep. Persell Rep. Torkelson Sen. Dahms Sen. Scalze Sen. Scalze Sen. Schmit Sen. Wiger Sen. Chamberlain Sen. Ruud

Senator Bev Scalze called the meeting of the Legislative Water Commission to order at 5:05 PM on Monday, January 12, 2015 in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Senator Wiger moved approval of minutes for the December 12, 2014 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Ms. Barb Huberty was introduced as the new Executive Director of the Legislative Water Commission. She will begin work on January 20th.

Representative Fischer moved that Representative Torkelson and Senator Scalze be elected as co-chairs. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Jason B. Moeckel, Manager, Inventory, Monitoring and Analysis Section, Division of Ecological and Water Resources, Department of Natural Resources, provided an overview of groundwater management areas and the Department's initiatives.

Scott Strand, Executive Director, and Michael Schmidt, Water Quality Program Associate, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy, spoke on issues related to clean water. Commission members discussed future meeting dates, and agreed that the next meeting will be 6:00 Monday, February 9.

Commission members discussed future agenda items. Members were encouraged to contact the co-chairs with their suggestions.

The meeting adjourned at 6:05.