
Motor Vehicle Taxes & Fees Flow
Partial Summary (not comprehensive for all scenarios)

Notes

"DVS" refers to Driver and Vehicle Services

Chart excludes various fees and transaction scenarios, such as for exempt vehicles, expedited service, trailer registration, late penalties, and special plate contributions

Chart does not show other state sales taxes (general sales tax on motor vehicle leases, rental sales tax, and general sales tax on automotive parts)

FILING FEE: RENEWAL

- Annual registration 
renewal
- $7.00

DVS Deputy Registrar

Vehicle Services
Operating Acct

$5.50 (~79%)

DVS Technology Acct

$1.50 (~21%)

Deputy Registrar

$7.00 (100%)

Who handles 
transaction?

FILING FEE: ALL OTHER

- Various non-renewal 
transctions (e.g., new 
registration, titles)
- $11.00

DVS Deputy Registrar

Vehicle Services
Operating Acct

$6.00 (~54%)

DVS Technology Acct

$1.50 (~14%)

Deputy Registrar

$11.00 (100%)

Who handles 
transaction?

General Fund

$3.50 (~32%)

REGISTRATION TAX

- Annual registration
- Amount varies with 
vehicle characteristics 
(e.g., value & age)

Highway User Tax 
Distribution Fund

100%

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subd. 
7

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subd. 
7

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES

TAX (MVST)

- Vehicle purchase
- 6.5% of sale price

Metropolitan Area 
Transit Acct

36%

Highway User Tax 
Distribution Fund

60%

Greater Minnesota
Transit Acct

4%

Registration 
Renewal (Tabs)

New Registration

Other Potential 
Taxes/Fees

(See page 2)

Other Vehicle 
Transactions

Other Potential 
Taxes/Fees

(See page 2)

TECHNOLOGY SURCHARGE

- Annual registration
- $2.25

DVS Technology Acct

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subd. 
7 (e)

Minn. Const. Art. XIV, §§
12-13; Minn. Stat. §
297B.09

Minn. Stat. § 168.013 Minn. Stat. § 168.013, 
subd. 21

Minn. Stat. § 168.33, subd. 
7 (e)
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WHEELAGE TAX

- Annual w/ reg.
- County local option
- Amount varies: up to 
$20.00

County

100%

TITLE FEE

- New vehicle title or 
title transfer
- Amount varies: $8.25 
plus $2 per lienholder

PUBLIC SAFETY VEHICLE

FEE

- New vehicle title or 
title transfer
- $3.50

Minn. Stat. § 168A.29, 
subd. 1 (b)

Public Safety Motor 
Vehicle Acct

100%

General Fund

Remainder (~50%)

Vehicle Services
Operating Acct

$4.15 (~50%)

Minn. Stat. §§ 168A.29, 
subd. 1 (a)(1); 168A.31

TITLE/TRANSFER FEE

- New vehicle title or 
title transfer
- $10.00

Minn. Stat. § 115A.908

Environmental Fund

100%

Is a new or 
transfered title?

Yes

Is a wheelage
tax imposed?

Yes

Other Potential 
Taxes/Fees

- Partial list

(See page 1)

Is a duplicate 
title?

DUPLICATE TITLE FEE

- Duplicate vehicle title
- Amount varies: $7.25 
plus $2 per lienholder

General Fund

Remainder (~55%)

Vehicle Services
Operating Acct

$3.25 (~45%)

Minn. Stat. §§ 168A.29, 
subd. 1 (a)(5); 168A.31

Yes

LOCAL SALES TAX

- Annual w/ reg.
- County local option
- $20.00

County

100%

Is a trans. sales
tax imposed?

Yes

Minn. Stat. § 297A.993 Minn. Stat. § 163.051

TECHNOLOGY SURCHARGE

- New or duplicate 
vehicle title
- $2.25

DVS Technology Acct

Minn. Stat. § 168A.29, 
subd. 1 (a)(1) & (4); 

ELECTRIC VEHICLE

SURCHARGE

- Annual w/ reg.
- $75.00

Highway User Tax 
Distribution Fund

100%

Is an all-
electric 
vehicle?

Yes

Minn. Stat. § 168.013,
subd. 1m

Minnesota House Research Department - 2 - 9/24/2019


