# Legislative Commission on Cybersecurity



Michelle Weber | Executive Director

## **Enabling Law**

 Minnesota Session Laws, 1<sup>st</sup> Special Session, Chapter 12, Article 2, Sections 1 and 22

Minnesota Statutes § 3.888

#### Members and Terms

- The Cybersecurity Commission consists of 8 legislative members:
  - 4 senators
    - 2 appointed by the senate majority leader
    - 2 appointed by the senate minority leader
  - 4 representatives
    - 2 appointed by the speaker of the house
    - 2 appointed by the minority leader of the house
  - Vacancies must be filled to preserve representation
- Members serve a two-year term beginning on appointment and expiring upon appointment of a successor after the convening of the next odd-year session.

#### Chair Election

• The election of chair is by majority vote of the members present.

• If unable to elect a chair by majority vote, the ranking member of the majority party serves as the chair.

• The chair alternates every two-years between the Senate and the House.

 A chair serves a two-year term that expires upon the election of a new chair after the opening of the next regular session in an odd-numbered year.

#### Duties of the Commission

Provide oversight to the state's cybersecurity measures.

Review cybersecurity policies and practices of state agencies.

 Recommend changes to policies to protect against cybersecurity threats.

 Develop recommendations and draft legislation to support and strengthen the state's cybersecurity infrastructure.

### Meetings

- Beginning in 2022, the commission must meet at least three times annually.
- Commission meetings are subject to the open meeting provisions of Minnesota Statutes § 3.055.
- Under Minnesota Statutes § 3.888, subd. 5, meetings may be closed when necessary to safeguard the state's cybersecurity.
  - The LCC must maintain minutes, recordings, and documents from closed meetings and shall not make that information available to the public until after eight years of the date of the meeting.

## Administration and Expiration

 The Legislative Coordinating Commission provides administrative services for the commission.

• The commission expires on December 31, 2028.

## Unique Aspects During 2021

• Current terms will be for approximately 15 months, rather than twoyears, and expire upon appointment of a successor after the start of the 2023 session.

 The majority leader of the Senate designated the convener of the first meeting.

• The commission must elect a chair at the first meeting from among the Senate members.

The commission must meet at least twice in 2021.