

Legislative Commission on Cybersecurity

Tuesday, June 27, 2023 10:00 AM Room G23 State Capitol

Meeting Minutes

Members Present

Rep. Kristin Bahner, Chair Sen. Eric Lucero, Vice Chair Sen. Mark Koran Rep. Steve Elkins Sen. Melissa Wiklund Sen. Tou Xiong Rep. Jim Nash

Sen. Koran called the meeting of the Legislative Commission on Cybersecurity to order at 10:06 AM. A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

Rep. Bahner moved approval of the June 14, 2022 meeting minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Member and Staff Introductions

Members and staff introduced themselves.

Election of Chair

Representative Elkins nominated Representative Bahner for the position of Chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Bahner assumed the gavel.

Election of Vice Chair

Representative Nash nominated Senator Lucero for the position of Vice Chair. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Election of Secretary

Senator Koran nominated Representative Nash for the position of Secretary. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Overview of 2023 Statute Changes

Michelle Weber, Executive Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, provided an overview of legislative changes related to closed meetings.

MNIT Presentation on Recent Attacks

Tarek Tomes, Commissioner and Chief Information Officer, MNIT and John Israel, Assistant Commissioner and Chief Information Security Officer, provided an overview on recent cybersecurity attacks.

Intention to go into a closed session per Minnesota Statutes 3.885, Subd. 5 Representative Bahner announced that the commission intended to recess and go into a closed session to get an overview regarding impacts to the state systems, risk mitigation, and proactive pieces to ensure protection of the state's assets and data.

Rep. Bahner moved the Commission to go into a closed session. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Representative Bahner, Senator Lucero, Senator Koran, Representative Elkins, Senator Wiklund, Senator Xiong.

There being 7 ayes and 0 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Bahner recessed the meeting at 10:42 AM for the Commission to go into a closed session.

The Commission did not reconvene in open session and adjourned during the closed session.