

Legislative Commission on Metropolitan Government

72 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone: (651) 296-9002 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD (651) 296-9896

MEMBERS

Representative Mark Buesgens Representative Mary Liz Holberg Representative Frank Hornstein Representative Sandra Masin Representative Neil Peterson Representative Sandra Peterson Representative Bev Scalze Senator Terri Bonoff Senator Scott Dibble Senator John Doll Senator Leo Foley Senator Chris Gerlach Senator Warren Limmer Senator Geoff Michel

MINUTES

I. CALL TO ORDER

Greg Hubinger called the meeting to order at 9:08am, on Wednesday, February 6, 2008, in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Administrator noted the roll.

Members present:

Rep. Hornstein

Rep. Holberg

Rep. Buesgens

Rep. Peterson, N.

Rep. Scalze

Rep. Peterson, S.

Rep. Hausman

Sen. Dibble

Sen. Michel

Members absent:

Rep. Masin

Sen. Bonoff

Sen. Doll

Sen. Foley

Sen. Gerlach

Sen. Limmer

IL ISSUES IN METROPOLITAN GOVERNANCE

Rep. Hornstein assumed the gavel and invited Aaron Isaacs, former Metro Transit employee, and John DeWitt, both from Minneapolis, to testify. The testimony related to the relationship between Metro Transit and the Suburban opt-out groups. Rep. Hausman made some concluding remarks to their testimony and described legislation she would introduce to address the topic.

Committee discussion followed.

Peter Bell, Met Council Chair, came to the table to address the committee. He requested to give rebuttal to the previous testifiers at a later date to the commission.

III. TRANSIT CORRIDOR STUDY UPDATE

Arlene McCarthy, Met Council, gave an overview on the Transit Master Corridor Study.

Committee discussion followed.

A quorum was present.

The committee recessed to caucus on the election of Chair and Vice Chair.

IV. ELECTION OF LCMG CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

Rep. Buesgens made a motion to take one vote for Chair and Vice Chair together and nominated Rep. Hornstein for Chair for 2008 and Sen. Dibble for Vice-Chair for 2008.

The motion prevailed. Rep. Hornstein called for a vote. Rep. Hornstein and Sen. Dibble were unanimously elected.

V. OVERVIEW OF MET COUNCIL BUDGET

Beth Windstrom-Anderson, Chief Financial Officer of Met Council, gave an overview on the Met Council Operating Budget and capitol Improvement Plan for 2008.

Committee discussion followed.

Judd Schetnan gave some concluding remarks to the Committee.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 11:18am.