Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 10, 2017 9:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT
Dr. Thomas Stinson, Chair
Patrice Hannan, Vice Chair
Joseph Boyle
Diana Burlison
William Donohue
Gregory Fox
James Joy
Dr. David Metzen
Gloria Myre
Deborah Olson
Sherrie Pugh
Marsha VanDenburgh (via telephone)
Kenneth Wilmes
Laura Witty

MEMBERS EXCUSED Charles McElroy Randy Twistol

Dr. Tom Stinson, Chair, called the Legislative Salary Council meeting to order at 9:01 AM in Room G-6 of the Judicial Center. A quorum was present.

Adopt Agenda

Deborah Olson moved approval of the agenda. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Dr. David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Adopt Minutes

Greg Fox moved approval of the minutes. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Dr. David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty.

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Discuss possible salaries

Members discussed possible salary levels to prescribe for state legislators. Each member indicated a yearly salary rate and then explained their reasoning for selecting that specific rate.

William Donahue moved the Legislative Salary Council set the prescribed salary for state legislators at \$45,000 per year effective July 1, 2017. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Dr. David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Marsha VanDenburgh and Laura Witty

Nays – Kenneth Wilmes

There being 13 Ayes, 1 Nay, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Stinson called a recess at 10:07 AM.

Chair Stinson called the meeting back to order at 10:30 AM.

Discuss report

Chair Stinson presented the draft letter that will accompany the Legislative Salary Council's report prescribing legislative salaries. Members discussed and provided input on the language to include in the draft letter as well as the placement of language within the letter.

Members then discussed the issue of per diem and the inclusion of language regarding per diem in the letter and report to the legislature.

Deborah Olson moved the Legislative Salary Council recommend the House and Senate consider eliminating per diem and only reimburse members for their actual living expenses, and that language be included in the report noting that the 2017 Legislative Salary Council would have prescribed a higher salary had per diem not been in place. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes – Chair Stinson, Diana Burlison, William Donahue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Dr. David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty

Nays - Joseph Boyle

There being 12 Ayes, 1 Nay, and 3 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held on Friday, March 17th at 9:00 AM.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:16 PM.