Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 1, 2019 9:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT Deborah Olson, Chair David Metzen, Vice Chair (via telephone) Joseph Boyle Diana Burlison William Donohue Gregory Fox (via telephone) James Joy Charles McElroy Gloria Myre Sherrie Pugh Thomas Stinson (via telephone) Randy Twistol Marsha VanDenburgh Kenneth Wilmes Laura Witty (via telephone)

MEMBERS EXCUSED Patrice Hannan

William Donohue convened the Legislative Salary Council meeting at 9:04 AM in Room G-22 of the Transportation Building. A quorum was present.

Adopt Agenda

Marsha VanDenburgh moved approval of the agenda. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, James Joy, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty.

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Election of chair and vice chair

Gloria Myre nominated Deborah Olson for the position of Chair.

Charles McElroy nominated David Metzen for the position of Vice Chair.

James Joy moved to elect Deborah Olson as Chair and David Metzen as Vice Chair. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, James Joy, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty.

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Deborah Olson assumed the gavel.

Open Meeting Law and Data Practices Act

Stacie Christensen, Director, Data Practices Office, presented an over view of the Open Meeting Law and the Minnesota Data Practices Act.

Consider proposed policies

Greg Hubinger, Director, Legislative Coordinating Commission, presented an overview of the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the proposed Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects.

William Donohue moved adoption of the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Members of the Public and the Legislative Salary Council Data Practices Policy for Data Subjects. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, James Joy, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty.

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 1 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Summary of Constitutional and Statutory provisions related to the Legislative Salary Council Ben Weeks, Legislative Analyst, House Research, presented an overview of the constitutional and statutory provisions relating to the Legislative Salary Council.

Legislator compensation data

Greg Hubinger presented an overview on Minnesota legislator compensation and per diem history and other compensation such as: insurance, retirement, and reimbursable expenses. Mr. Hubinger also presented on legislative salaries and per diem in other states.

Helen Arend, House Budget and Accounting, addressed Council member questions related to tax and per diem.

Public Testimony

Rick Heller, Unofficially Representing the Twice Exceptional and Print Disabled, provided public testimony.

Council Discussion

Members discussed the work before the Council, their goals for the Council, and requested additional specific data and information be provided to the Council.

Members then discussed the proposed meeting schedule. The proposed remaining meeting times included the following dates: March 15, 2019 and March 29, 2019. It was determined the Council members should reserve Friday, March 22, 2019 in the event an additional meeting is needed.

Chair Olson called a recess at 10:39 AM.

Chair Olson called the meeting back to order at 10:53 AM.

Council member discussion continued.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:18 AM.