Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 15, 2019 10:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT Deborah Olson, Chair David Metzen, Vice Chair Joseph Boyle William Donohue (via telephone) Gregory Fox (via telephone) Patrice Hannan (via telephone) James Joy (via telephone) Charles McElroy Gloria Myre Sherrie Pugh Thomas Stinson (via telephone) Randy Twistol (via telephone) Marsha VanDenburgh Kenneth Wilmes Laura Witty (via telephone)

MEMBERS EXCUSED Diana Burlison

Chair Deborah Olson called the meeting of the Legislative Salary Council to order at 10:08 AM in Room G-13/14 of the Transportation Building. A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

Joseph Boyle moved approval of the minutes from the March 1, 2019 meeting. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Deborah Olson, Joseph Boyle, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, James Joy, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh and Laura Witty.

Absent: Diana Burlison, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson and Kenneth Wilmes.

There being 12 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 4 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

2020-21 Budget Forecast

Britta Reitan, State Budget Director, Minnesota Management and Budget, presented an overview of the February 2020-21 Budget Forecast.

Testimony of Former Members

Joe Hoppe, former member of the Minnesota House, Clark Johnson, former member of the Minnesota House, and Michelle Fischbach, former member of the Minnesota Senate, presented on legislative salaries speaking to the 2017 salary increase, legislative per diem and the time demand on legislators both during the legislative session and the interim.

Chair Olson called a recess at 11:25 AM.

Chair Olson called the meeting back to order at 11:44 AM.

Review of Data

Chair Olson noted copies of the additional data requested by members at the March 1, 2019 was included in Council member folders. This included data on per diem payments and expenses, data on member demographics and data related to the projected budget impact of potential salary increases.

Council Discussion

Joseph Boyle moved that it be acknowledged that the 2019 Legislative Salary Council reviewed the base salary of \$45,000 that was set by the 2017 Legislative Salary Council and the 2019 Council affirms that setting the base salary at \$45,000 was appropriate for the 2018-2019 biennium. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Chair Deborah Olson, Joseph Boyle, William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty.

Absent: Diana Burlison and James Joy.

There being 14 Ayes, 0 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Gregory Fox moved the Legislative Salary Council set the prescribed salary for state legislators at \$46,000 per year effective July 1, 2019. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, Charles McElroy, Randy Twistol and Laura Witty.

Nayes: Chair Deborah Olson, Joseph Boyle, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Marsha VanDenburgh and Ken Wilmes.

Absent: Diana Burlison and James Joy.

There being 6 Ayes, 8 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

David Metzen moved the Legislative Salary Council set the prescribed salary for state legislators at \$46,500 per year effective July 1, 2019. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: William Donohue, Gregory Fox, Patrice Hannan, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Sherrie Pugh, Thomas Stinson, Randy Twistol, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes and Laura Witty. Nayes: Chair Deborah Olson, Joseph Boyle and Gloria Myre. Absent: Diana Burlison and James Joy.

There being 11 Ayes, 3 Nays, and 2 Absent, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Council Discussion

Members discussed the 2019 Council report and subject matters that may be included in it.

It was determined the meeting of the Legislative Salary Council tentatively scheduled for March 15, 2019 was not needed. The next meeting will be held on Friday, March 29, 2019 at 9:20 AM.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:20 PM.