Legislative Salary Council Friday, March 12, 2021 10:00 AM

Remote Meeting Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT Deborah Olson, Chair David Metzen, Vice Chair Joseph Boyle **Diana Burlison** William Donohue Brent Frazier James Joy Thomas Kuntz Charles McElroy Gloria Myre James Patterson Sherrie Pugh **Thomas Stinson** Marsha VanDenburgh Kenneth Wilmes

MEMBERS EXCUSED Gregory Fox

Deborah Olson, Chair, called the remote meeting of the Legislative Salary Council to order at 10:00 AM. A quorum was present.

Approve Minutes

Joseph Boyle moved approval of the February 26, 2021 meeting minutes. Seconded. The Motion Prevailed.

Overview of Comparison Data

Greg Hubinger, LCC Staff, presented an overview of legislative compensation and living expense allowances for state's with hybrid legislatures and also reviewed comparison data on salary increases.

Council discussion and determination of salary amount and draft report

Members reviewed and discussed possible options for legislative salary increases.

James Joy moved the Legislative Salary Council set the prescribed salary of legislators at \$48,000 per year effective July 1, 2021. Seconded.

Joseph Boyle moved to amend the motion to set the prescribed salary of legislators at \$48,250 per year effective July 1, 2021. Seconded.

A roll call vote was taken on the amendment. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, James Patterson, Sherrie Pugh, Tom Stinson

Nays: Deborah Olson, Brent Frazier, James Joy, Thomas Kuntz, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes

Absent: Gregory Fox

There being 9 Ayes, 6 Nays and 1 absent, The Motion Prevailed.

The vote was taken on the motion, as amended, that the Legislative Salary Council set the prescribed salary of legislators at \$48,250 per year effective July 1, 2021.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Thomas Kuntz, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, James Patterson, Sherrie Pugh, Tom Stinson Nays: Brent Frazier, James Joy, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes Absent: Gregory Fox

There being 11 Ayes, 4 Nays and 1 absent, The Motion Prevailed.

Members then discussed the 2021 report and subject matters that would be included in it.

David Metzen moved the 2021 Legislative Salary Council report include the language related to per diem that has been included in previous reports and that Council member Joseph Boyle be allowed to submit a minority report.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Brent Frazier, James Joy, Thomas Kuntz, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, James Patterson, Sherrie Pugh, Tom Stinson, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes Absent: Gregory Fox

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays and 1 absent, The Motion Prevailed.

Thomas Kuntz moved the Council authorize the Chair to submit the 2021 Legislative Salary Council report on behalf of the Council.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Brent Frazier, James Joy, Thomas Kuntz, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, James Patterson, Sherrie Pugh, Tom Stinson, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes Absent: Gregory Fox There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays and 1 absent, The Motion Prevailed.

William Donohue moved the Council authorize the Chair to approve the final meeting's minutes.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Joseph Boyle, Diana Burlison, William Donohue, Brent Frazier, James Joy, Thomas Kuntz, Charles McElroy, David Metzen, Gloria Myre, Deborah Olson, James Patterson, Sherrie Pugh, Tom Stinson, Marsha VanDenburgh, Kenneth Wilmes Absent: Gregory Fox

There being 15 Ayes, 0 Nays and 1 absent, The Motion Prevailed.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:30 AM.