National Conference of State Legislatures

2020 Legislative Compensation and Living Expense Allowances During Regular Sessions

Hybrid States only

Sort by population
State Salary Population Salaries Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile) Session Per Diem Rate
2020
Per Diem Salary

Texas $7,200 29,360,759 n/a 50/mile. $1.21/mile for single, twin and turbo engine | $221/day. Set by ethics commission. Unvouchered.

airplanes. Set by general appropriations bill.

Florida $29,697 21,733,312 n/a 44.5/mile. $152/day for up to 50 days for senators and up to 60 days for
representatives. Vouchered.

i 17,342 10,710,017 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. g . .
° $ n/a /mile. Tied to federal rate. $173/day. Set by the Legislative Services Committee.
Unvouchered.

North Carolina $13,951 10,600,823 n/a 29/mile. One round trip per week.
$104/day. Set by statute. Unvouchered.

New Jersey $49,000 8,882,371 n/a No mileage reimbursement. No per diem is paid.

Virginia $17,820 8,590,563 n/a 57.5/mile. $210/day.

Washington $56,881 7,693,612 n/a 57.5/mile. $120/day.

an 24,000 S a2L301 S 5mie Fortegt residmgwithimrvaricopa-Eoumty—$35/day-forthe

rizona $24, e n/a /mile first 120 days of regular and special sessions and $10/day for all

Te $24,316 6,886,834 n/a 47/mile. ﬁ)‘ﬁé‘ﬁiéﬁ"a‘t‘gﬁ rg‘sji'dlng within 58 mi e% o? tﬂe capitol: $6§7day.

Indiana $27,204 6,754,953 n/a 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $184/day. Unvouchered.

Missouri $35,915 6,151,548 n/a 43/mile. $121/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Maryland $50,330 6,055,802 n/a 57.5/mile. Legislators receive $750/year as taxable _|$109/day for lodging. $56/day for meals.

Colorado $35,121 5,807,719 n/a 52/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $45/day.
For legislators living more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$219/day. Set by the legislature. Vouchered.

Minnesota $46,500 5,657,342 n/a 57.5/mile. One round trip per week. Tied to federal For senators: $86/day. For representatives: $66/day.

rate.

South Carolina $10,400 5,218,040 n/a 58/mile. Tied to federal rate. $140/day.

Alabama $49,861 4,921,532 n/a 57.5/mile. For overnight stays: $85/day. For two or more days with
overnight stays: $100/day.

Louisiana $16,800 4,645,318 n/a 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $161/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Kentucky n/a 4,477,251 $188/day. 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $166/day.

Oregon $31,200 4,241,507 n/a 57.5/mile. $151/day.

Oklahoma $35,021 3,980,783 n/a 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $166/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Connecticut $28,000 3,557,006 n/a 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.

lowa $25,000 3,163,561 n/a 39/mile. $169/day. Unvouchered.

Nevada n/a 3,138,259 $164.69/calendar day up to 60 |57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $151/day.

days. Senators who are not up
 for reelection until 2022 receive

Arkansas $42,428 3,030,522 n/a 57.5/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $55/day.
For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$151/day.

Nebraska $12,000 1,937,552 n/a 57.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $55/day.
For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:

Delaware $47,291 986,809 n/a 40/mile. No per diem is paid.

Hybrid average salary $30,553 7,138,661



	2020 Comp hybrid

