National Conference of State Legislatures
2022 Legislative Compensation and Travel Expense Allowances During Regular Sessions

State

Salaries

Per Diem Salary

Annual Salary

Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile)

Session Per Diem Rate

Alabama

n/a

$53,956

58.5/mile.

For overnight stays: $85/day. For two or more days with
overnight stays: $100/day.

Alaska

n/a

$50,400

58.5/mile.

For legislators whose permanent residence is not in Juneau: up
to $307/day. For Juneau legislators: no per diem.

Arizona

n/a

$24,000

58.5/mile. Tied to the federal rate.

The session per diem rate for state legislators residing in
Maricopa County is $35/day for the first 120 days of regular
and special sessions and $10/day for all following days. For
legislators residing outside of Maricopa County, one hundred
percent of the average of the six highest months of the annual
federal per diem rate for Maricopa county, including lodging, as
determined by the United States general services
administration. The director of the department of
administration shall determine this amount annually (currently
$220/day) for the first 120 days of regular and special sessions
and half that amount (currenlty $110/day) for all following
days. This is set in statute, but will change each year as the US
general services administration adjusts the federal rates.

Arkansas

n/a

$44,357

58.5/mile. Tied to the federal rate.

For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $59/day.
For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$1515/day.

California

n/a

$119,702

58.5/mile.

$211/day for Senators and $214/day for Representatives.

Colorado

n/a

$40,242

58.5/mile.

For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $45/day.
For legislators living more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$234/day. Set by the legislature. Vouchered.

Connecticut

n/a

$28,000

58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate.

No per diem is paid.

Delaware

n/a

$48,237

40/mile.

Legislators do not receive a per diem but do receive a stipend
worth $7,481.00 that is divided by 26 pays (5287.73 a
paycheck).




State Salaries Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile) Session Per Diem Rate
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary

Florida* (2021 Compensation Data) n/a $29,697 44.5/mile. $152/day for up to 50 days for senators and up to 60 days for
representatives. Vouchered.

Georgia n/a $17,341 59/mile. $247/day. Set by the Legislative Services Committee.
Unvouchered.

Hawaii n/a $62,604 58.5/mile. For legislators who do not reside on Oahu: $225/day. For
legislators living on Oahu during the mandatory five-day recess
only: $10/day. Legislators who do not reside on Oahu also
receive reimbursement for their air travel costs to commute
from their home island to Oahu.

Idaho n/a $18,875 58.5/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $71/day.
For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$139/day.

lllinois n/a $70,645 58.5/mile. $155/day.

Indiana n/a $28,791.00 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $196/day. Unvouchered.

lowa n/a 225,000 39/mile. $175/day. Unvouchered. During the interim, hotel stays are
covered for two-day meetings or with prior approval.

Kansas $88.66/session day. n/a 56/mile. One round trip per week. $155/day. Tied to CONUS.

Kentucky $188.22/calendar day. n/a 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $170.50/day.

Louisiana n/a $16,800 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $160/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Maine n/a $15,417 for the first regular The mileage reimbursement rate increased from The session per diem rate for state legislators is $38/day for
session. $10,999 for the $0.44 to $0.45 per mile effective July 1, 2021, and lodging (or one round-trip mileage in lieu of lodging for the first
second regular session. will increase to $0.46 per mile effective October 1, |day of travel in a week and up to $38/day in lieu of lodging for

2022. Legislators are eligible to be reimbursed for subsequent days of travel during the same week, plus actual
tolls paid in traveling to and from sessions of the tolls). $32/day for meals. This is set by statute.
Legislature or in the performance of duly authorized
committee assighments.
Maryland n/a $50,330 58.5/mile. Legislators receive $750/year as taxable |5$106/day for lodging. $56/day for meals.

income for in-district travel, but they may decline
the allowance.




State Salaries Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile) Session Per Diem Rate
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary
Massachusetts n/a $70,537 No mileage reimbursement. Legislators residing No per diem is paid. Legislators residing within 50 miles of the
within 50 miles of the statehouse receive an office  |statehouse receive an office expense stipend of 517,043 that
expense stipend of 517,043 that can be used for can be used for travel expenses. Legislators residing more than
travel expenses. Legislators residing more than 50 |50 miles from the state house receive 522,723.
miles from the state house receive 522,723.

Michigan n/a $71,685 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. No per diem is paid. Legislators receive an expense allowance
of $10,800/year for session and interim. Set by the
compensation commission. Vouchered.

Minnesota n/a $46,500 58.5/mile. One round trip per week. Tied to federal |For senators: $86/day. For representatives: $66/day. Additional

rate. compensation for communication, living expenses and district
travel may be possible.

Mississippi n/a $23,500 58.5/mile. $155/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Missouri n/a $36,813 49/mile. $124/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

Montana $100.46/legislative day. n/a 58.6/mile. Tied to federal rate. $126.12/day. For additional expenses, legislators also reeive a
primary $3,000 stipend and a secondary amount between
$1,000 and $4,000 depending on the square mileage of a
legislator's district.

Nebraska n/a $12,000 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $59/day.
For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$155/day.

Nevada 2021 Data: $164.69/calendar [n/a 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. 2021 Data: $151/day. Travel allowance of $10,000/session, and

day up to 60 days. Senators

who are not up for reelection

until 2022 receive

additional $900/session leadership allowance. Per the Nevada
Constitution, the Speaker and the Lieutenant Governor, as
President of the Senate, each receive an additional allowance of

$159.89/calendar day. $2 per diem during the time of their actual attendance as
presiding officers. Committee chairs also receive an additional
$900 allowance.
New Hampshire n/a $100 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. Legislators can No per diem is paid.

instead choose the state mileage reimbursement
option, which is 38/mile for the first 45 miles, and
19/mile thereafter. With this alternative method,
the reimbursement is taxed as income, and
legislators do not need to drive their personal
vehicle.




State Salaries Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile) Session Per Diem Rate
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary

New Jersey n/a $49,000 No mileage reimbursement. No per diem is paid.

New Mexico n/a S0 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $165/day (January and February); $194/day (March). Tied to
federal rate. Vouchered. It goes up to 5202 for FY23 on July 1,
2022.

New York n/a $110,000 58.5/mile Tied to federal rate. For non-overnight travel: $61/day. For overnight stays:
$183/day.

North Carolina n/a $13,951 29/mile. One round trip per week. $104/day. Set by statute. Unvouchered. For additional
expenses, legislators receive $559/month.

North Dakota n/a $518/month. $526/month 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $186/day. $189/day starting July 1, 2021; $193/day starting July

starting July 1, 2021; 1, 2022.
$537/month starting July 1
2022.

Ohio n/a $68,674 55/mile for legislators living outside Franklin County. |No per diem is paid.

Oklahoma n/a $47,500 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $168/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered. The per diem rate
for Oklahoma legislators in the interim (non-session months),
approximately June through January, is $25/day and limited to
20 days, without prior permission of each respective house's
leader. This is governed by statute.

Oregon n/a $33,852 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $151/day.

Pennsylvania n/a $95,432 58.5/mile.Tied to federal rate. $178/day for Representatives. $181/day for Senators.

Rhode Island n/a $16,835 56/mile. No per diem is paid.

South Carolina n/a $10,400 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $185.38/day. Tied to federal rate with additional amount
added to match average hotel rate in Columbia, SC. All
legislators in SC (House and Senate) receive a monthly payment
of $1,000 that we label “in-district” expenses.

South Dakota n/a $13,957 One trip is paid at 5/mile, and the remaining are $155/day. Legislative days only. Unvouchered. The per diem

paid at 42/mile. One round trip per week.

rate is the amount fixed for the per diem allowance that is
authorized by the United States Internal Revenue Service per

SDCL 2-4-2.




State Salaries Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile) Session Per Diem Rate
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary
Tennessee n/a $24,316 47/mile. Until November of 2022, then it will be For legislators residing within 50 miles of the capitol: $61/day.
adjusted to $.585 per mile. For legislators residing more than 50 miles from the capitol:
$295/day. Currently tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.
Beginning in November of 2022, Members will be granted the
meals and incidentals amount equal to the allowance granted
federal employees for expenses in the Nashville area. For
lodging, the higher of:
1. The annual average hotel rate for the previous calendar year
in the Nashville central business district as provided by the
Nashville Convention and Visitors Corporation or their
successor organization if obtainable, or
2. The allowance granted federal employees for lodging
expenses in the Nashville area.
Texas n/a $7,200 58.4/mile. $1.515/mile for single, twin and turbo $221/day. Set by ethics commission. Unvouchered.
engine airplanes. Set by general appropriations bill.
Legislators also receive reimbursement for
transportation costs for one roundtrip home each
week.
Utah $285/legislative day. n/a 56/mile. No per diem is paid. For Senate: Legislators residing more than
100 miles from the capitol can receive up to $100/day. For
House: Legislators residing more than 40 miles from the capitol
can receive up to $100/day. For House:
Vermont n/a $742.92/week during session. |58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $75/day for remote. $127/night for lodging and $69/day for
meals for in person.
Virginia n/a $18,000 for senators. $17,640 |58.5/mile. $209/day.
for delegates.
Washington n/a $57,876 58.5/mile. Tied to federal rate. $185/day. Per diem is now tied to 89% of the federal per diem
rate and will be reviewed for accuracy each November.
West Virginia n/a $20,000 48.5/mile. $131/day. Set by compensation commission. Unvouchered.




State

Mileage Reimbursement Rate (cents per mile)

Session Per Diem Rate

Wisconsin

51/mile. Senators can claim one round trip per
week. Representatives can claim two round trips to
the Capitol per week, unless they stay over night
and then they can only claim one round trip.

For the Senate: $115/day for senators who reside outside of
Dane County; those in Dane County receive $57.50. $153 (with
overnight) or $76.50/day (no overnight) for representatives.
The Senate has no limitation on the total number of days that a
member may claim per diem. Some other restrictions apply,
such as a prohibition on claiming per diem on weekends unless
the senator is in actual attendance of session or a meeting of a
standing committee of which the senator is a member.

For the Assembly: Representative can claim 153 per diem days
in the first year and 80 in the second year of the session. The
per diem rate for the Assembly is $153 for overnight and $76.50
for non-overnight and for Dane County legislators.

Wyoming

Salaries
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary
n/a $55,141
$150/day. n/a

59/mile.

$109/day. Set by legislature. Vouchered. Legislators also
receive an additional $300/month; 1/2 salary for 1 day of
preparation for each day the legislator is engaged in work for
the Management Council or any committee; and 1/2 salary for
each day the member travels to and from an interim activity for
which he/she is entitled to receive a salary.
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