

SF 2809/HF 3272 - Met Council Governance

- The main objectives of the bill were to:
 - Increase accountability to the local governments within the metropolitan region
 - Implement staggard terms to increase continuity of the Council
 - Restructure the Council to conform with federal MPO requirements, eliminating the need for the Transportation Advisory Board.
 - Give counties and communities a seat at the table
 - Assure balance between urban and suburban representation



The Met Council would be comprised of 29 members

- 16 district representatives (same as today) to be filled by a locally-elected official who lives in the district
- Each city and township would appoint a member to serve on the district selection committee
- 6 County Commissioners, one from each of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington unties
- 2 Hennepin County Commissioners, 1 representing Minneapolis and one that does not include Minneapolis
- Commissioner of Transportation
- 1 Non-Motorized transportation rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- 1 public transit rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- 1 freight transport rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- Chair appointed by the Governor

Based on the work of this task. changes could be made

- Increase districts from 16 to 35, closer to the size of a Senate district
- Reduce Hennepin County commissioners from 2 to 1
 - 1 commissioner for all counties
 - Proportional representation covered by increased number of districts.
- Remove operating responsibilities for Metro Transit conflict of interest
- Remove Housing responsibilities funding directly to counties
- Changes in scope could affect time commitment
- Have non-motorized, public transit and freight only vote in MPO decisions, otherwise non-voting members
- Define Chair as ex officio CEO of the Council with direct management of staff and ex officio
 - Like school boards and City Managers