To: Chair Hornstein & Members of the House Transportation Committee

From: Sierra Club North Star Chapter

Date: March 13, 2023

Re: HF2092, Comparison of Met Council to Governance of Greater MN Transit

Many have noted how unusual the Met Council is compared to national standards. It is also unusual within Minnesota. Below is a summary of who is accountable for governing transit in six Greater MN regions that provide fixed route transit service: Duluth, Rochester, Saint Cloud, Winona, Mankato and Moorhead. The summary shows a variety of governing models which include elected officials, appointed members, or both. Some have advisory bodies. Many are multi-jurisdictional, including elected officials from multiple cities, even across state lines.

But all six systems have two qualities in common:

- 1. In <u>none</u> of these governing models are all of the board members appointed members and <u>also all appointed by the same person</u>.
- 2. None of the elected officials or appointees are chosen based on statewide election results. In <u>all</u> of these models, those in charge are <u>accountable only to local voters</u>.

That the Twin Cities Metro Area is bigger is not an excuse for governance to fail to follow similar and normal democratic principles. Large metros across the nation have figured this out.

Sierra Club is not ready today to endorse the specific alternative proposed in HF2092. We should also explore other governance models including separating transit from other Met Council functions. Nationwide, many regions don't place the management of transit service under the same entity as an MPO or regulatory body like the Met Council.

The one unacceptable model is the status quo, which diminishes and even endangers vital transit service. Please consider multiple options to bring local accountability to Metro Transit.

# Duluth Transit Authority

## Board of Directors

All Board of Directors members must be residents of Duluth with the exception of one representative for the City of Superior. The Board consists of nine members; five of which represent the five City Council districts, one representative from the City of Superior, and three representing the City of Duluth At-Large. Each member may serve two consecutive three year terms on the Board of Directors.



#### Saint Cloud Metro Bus

#### Metropolitan Transit Commission



The Metro Bus Board of Commissioners is made up of five members:

Two members represent the City of St. Cloud

One member each from the City of Sartell, City of Sauk Rapids, and City of Waite Park.

Board members traditionally have been either the current elected Mayor or City Council member.

## Rochester - Rochester Public Transit

Rochester Public Transit is managed by the City of Rochester which has a City Council of seven members. The City Council gets recommendations from the <u>Citizens</u> <u>Advisory on Transit.</u>

The advisory is composed of seven members appointed by the Mayor <u>and approved by the Common Council</u>. The seven members shall be selected based on the following criteria:

Resident of the City of Rochester with the exception of 1 seat which may be extended to a resident within the 4 surrounding townships of Rochester, Cascade, Marion or Haverhill.



#### Winona Transit Service



### Transit Advisory Committee

12 seats on the committee staffed by the City Clerk

Advisory board only; any changes in our routes or service hours are approved by our governing board, which is the <u>City Council</u>.

## Fargo/Moorhead MATBUS

## Metro Area Transit Coordinating Board

Membership: The MAT Coordination Board (Board) is comprised of twelve voting members. The appointment of voting membership shall be as follows :

Fargo - two members of City Commission Moorhead - two members of City Council West Fargo - one member of City Commission Dillworth - one member of City Council. NDSU - one administrator MHD Colleges - one from each college (MSUM, MState, Concordia) Valley Senior Services - one administrator Board Chairperson - one



### Mankato Public Transit

Mankato Public Transit is managed by the City of Mankato which has a <u>City Council</u> of seven members.



Mankato has a charter form of government with a council-manager plan. Citizens elect the City Council, which consists of one Council Member for each of the city's five wards, a Council Member At-Large and a Mayor. The Council Member At-Large serves as president of the Council. The Mayor is a member of the City Council and is the ceremonial leader. Council members serve staggered, four-year terms.

The City Council gets recommendations from the Mankato/North Mankato Area Planning Organization

The Mankato/North Mankato Area Planning Organization (MAPO) will consist of 6 Policy Board members. Each member (or their appointed alternate) will be entitled to one full vote. No eligible voting member will have more than one vote. All of the membership will be local elected officials or their alternates.MAPO is advised by the Technical Advisory Committee. Membership will be as follows:

City of Eagle Lake 1 Representative, City of Mankato 1 Representative, City of North Mankato 1 Representative, Blue Earth County 1 Representative, Nicollet County 1 Representative Townships 1 Representative.