

Metropolitan Governance Task Force

January 10, 2024 10:00 AM

Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Rep. Frank Hornstein, Chair
Sen. Eric Pratt, Vice-Chair
Commissioner Karla Bigham
Sen. Julia Coleman
Mary Pattock
Commissioner Marion Greene
Mayor James Hovland

Rep. Ginny Klevorn Renae Pereira-Webb Rep. Mark Wiens Sen. Scott Dibble Professor Myron Orfield

Kristin Beckmann

Jeff Reed

Excused:

Rep. Jon Koznick Sen. Lindsey Port

Call to Order:

Chair Hornstein called the Metropolitan Governance Task Force meeting to order at 10:00 AM. A quorum was present.

Adoption of Meeting Minutes:

Rep. Wiens moved to adopt the Meeting Minutes from January 3, 2024. The motion prevailed.

Preview of Remainder of MGTF Meetings & Process for Report:

Rep. Hornstein explained that the task force meeting on January 17, 2024, would be reserved for members to bring forward motions on what recommendations they would like included in the report for a vote. The Task Force report would then be written by Taylor Koehler for review by the task force on the January 24, 2024, meeting date.

Mayor Hovland expressed his desire to see the task force delay all major voting until January 24, 2024, so that task force members could prepare proposals and thoughts for review in advance of voting. Task force members discussed this proposal. Mayor Hovland moved for the following timeline to be adopted:

- January 15, 2024: task force member proposals & comments/thoughts due to LCC for distribution to task force;
- January 17, 2024: task force member discussion on proposals; task force may vote only on ancillary motions, not core report recommendations;
- January 24, 2024: task force votes on motions related to core report recommendations;
- January 30, 2024: task force votes to approve final report.

A roll call vote was taken on Mayor Hovland's motion. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Rep. Hornstein, Senator Pratt, Kristin Beckmann, Commissioner Bigham, Senator Coleman, Senator Dibble, Mary Pattock, Commissioner Greene, Mayor Hovland, Rep. Klevorn, Myron Orfield, Renae Pereira-Webb, Jeff Reed, Sam Rockwell, Rep. Wiens

Absent: Rep. Koznick, Senator Port

There being 15 Ayes and 0 Nays, the motion prevailed.

Senator Pratt moved to require a supermajority instead of a simple majority vote for any report recommendation motion to prevail. A supermajority of 11 task force members would be required to affirmatively vote in favor of the motion for it to prevail. Task force members discussed the pros and cons of requiring a higher threshold than a simple majority. A roll call vote was taken on Senator Pratt's motion. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Senator Pratt, Senator Coleman, Mayor Hovland, Rep. Klevorn, Rep. Wiens

Nayes: Rep. Hornstein, Kristin Beckmann, Commissioner Bigham, Senator Dibble, Mary Pattock, Myron Orfield, Renae Pereira-Webb, Jeff Reed, Sam Rockwell

Absent: Rep. Koznick, Senator Port

There being 5 Ayes and 9 Nays, the motion failed.

Mary Pattock proposed a motion to adopt a problem statement finding accountability to be the core issue identified by the task force. Task force members discussed this proposal. The motion was tabled for the January 17, 2024, to allow all task force members to read the exact language proposed.

Public Testimony:

Rich Neumeister, Dick Adair, Karen Schaffer, and MN State Representative Steve Elkins provided in-person public testimony.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:21pm.