Orfield Metropolitan Council Reform Proposal

The Metropolitan Council shall consist of two chambers or divisions.

A. The Chamber of the People or the Public Division

A "directly elected body" of sixteen members that shall be elected by districts drawn equal in size and subject to the minority opportunity district requirements of section 2 of the Federal Voting Rights Act. The elections shall be non-partisan, funded by with a public election finance system similar to Minnesota Legislature's public finance system. All tax and bonding provisions, and all discretionary policy decisions, must originate from the directly elected body. The directly elected members will have a salary that is the average of the salaries of elected members of the county boards in the seven metropolitan counties.

B. The Chamber of Local Governments or the Local Government Division

The chamber/division of local government or the "local government body" will replace the Transportation Advisory Board, assuming its duties and other powers enumerated by the legislature. The local government body shall be composed of elected city, county and school board officials chosen by three caucuses of elected officials from the: 1) the central cities; 2) the fully developed suburbs; and 3) the developing suburbs to ensure that these caucus are each proportionally represented based on their relative population.

The chamber of local government shall be consulted on all major policy decisions and have the power to force the directly elected body to reconsider any major policy decisions and may, by a qualified or super-majority vote, veto any major action by the directly elected body.

The members of the local government body will be paid reasonable additional compensation for their public meetings and shall be urged to attend national and international meetings and training courses to improve their understanding of regional planning issues.

C. Approval by referendum

Within two years of the final passage of this legislation, the Metropolitan Council shall submit its revised governmental structure for approval of the citizens of the seven-county metropolitan area.