## SENATOR PRATT PROPOSAL: COG MODEL

The Task Force recommends a modified Council of Governments model made up of 40 members

7 Seats representing each County

- 4 year staggered terms
- Must be a currently seated county commissioner
- Chosen by the respective board

33 Seats proportionally allocated for cities & Townships

- 4 year staggered terms
- o Must be a currently elected official from a city or township
- o Chosen by a committee of representatives within a district

For MPO purposes, 4 MPO members are:

- Commissioner of Transportation
- o 1 Non-Motorized transportation rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- o 1 public transit rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- 1 freight transport rep appointed by Commissioner of Transportation
- Vote only on MPO decisions
- Advisory in all other decisions

The Board selects a Chair and hires an Executive Director to manage staff.

The governing body of each home rule charter or statutory city and town in each Metropolitan Council district shall appoint a member to serve on a municipal committee for the council district.

- If a city or town is in more than one council district, the governing body must appoint a member to serve on each council district's municipal committee.
  - District boundaries will be based on population, but also respect jurisdictional boundaries minimize the occurrences of a municipality being split into multiple districts
  - A member appointed to a council district's municipal committee must reside in the council district. If a district is wholly contained within a municipality, the city council will choose a representative.

The municipal committee must meet at least quarterly to discuss issues relating to the Metropolitan Council. Municipal committee meetings are subject to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law, chapter 13D.

Effective January 1, 2027

## The Seven-County Twin Cities Metropolitan Area, Minnesota, USA

