

# Metropolitan Governance Task Force

February 1, 2024 2:30 PM

## **Meeting Minutes**

### Members Present:

Rep. Frank Hornstein, Chair Sen. Eric Pratt, Vice-Chair Commissioner Karla Bigham Sen. Julia Coleman Mary Pattock Commissioner Marion Greene Rep. Ginny Klevorn Renae Pereira-Webb Rep. Mark Wiens Sen. Scott Dibble Professor Myron Orfield Kristin Beckmann Jeff Reed Rep. Jon Koznick Sen. Lindsey Port Mayor James Hovland

## Call to Order:

Chair Hornstein called the Metropolitan Governance Task Force meeting to order at 2:33 PM. A quorum was present.

## **Adoption of Meeting Minutes:**

Senator Pratt moved to adopt the Meeting Minutes from January 24, 2024. The motion prevailed.

Senator Pratt moved to adopt the corrected Meeting Minutes from January 10, 2024. The Meeting Minutes were corrected to include Commissioner Greene's name in the vote record for Senator Pratt's motion regarding supermajority voting, as her name had been mistakenly excluded. The motion prevailed.

Commissioner Bigham moved to authorize LCC staff to prepare and Rep. Hornstein & Senator Pratt to jointly approve the meeting minutes from today's meeting and then to have those Meeting Minutes added to the Appendix of the Task Force's final report.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Rep. Hornstein, Senator Pratt, Kristin Beckmann, Commissioner Bigham, Senator Coleman, Senator Dibble, Mayor Hovland, Rep. Klevorn, Rep. Koznick, Professor Myron Orfield, Mary Pattock, Renae Pereira-Webb, Senator Port, Jeff Reed, Sam Rockwell,

Absent: Commissioner Greene, Rep. Wiens

There being 15 Ayes and 0 Nays, the motion prevailed.

### Task Force Discussion on Report:

Task Force members discussed their thoughts on the report.

Professor Orfield advised that he will be submitting a "Minority Report" at a later date.

Senator Pratt introduced a "Minority Report" to be included in the final report, and the language of that Minority Report was distributed to Task Force members. It was determined that the Minority Report would be added as Section V of the final report. No vote on inclusion of the Minority Report was required and none was taken.

Mayor Hovland expressed an interest in also filing a Minority Report at a later date.

Chair Hornstein explained that any future submissions of Minority Reports would not technically be a part of the final report or the appendix, as the final report is being submitted today, February 1, 2024. However, any future submissions can be included on the Task Force's webpage and will also go to the Legislative Reference Library to be included as part of the Task Force's record. Chair Hornstein also advised that members are always able to individually send out materials to the legislature.

### Task Force Motion for Report Approval and Submission:

Kristin Beckmann moved the following:

To approve the report as provided today with Senator Pratt's minority report included. LCC staff are authorized to prepare the report and include any technical changes that are necessary. Chair Hornstein and Vice-Chair Pratt are authorized to approve and work with staff to submit the final report.

A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Rep. Hornstein, Senator Pratt, Kristin Beckmann, Commissioner Bigham, Senator Coleman, Commissioner Greene, Mayor Hovland, Rep. Klevorn, Mary Pattock, Renae Pereira-Webb, Jeff Reed, Sam Rockwell, Rep Wiens

Nays: Senator Dibble, Senator Port

Abstain: Rep. Koznick

Absent: Professor Orfield

There being 13 Ayes and 2 Nays, the motion prevailed.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:47pm.