

Metropolitan Governance Task Force

August 9, 2023 10:00AM

Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair Senator Eric Pratt, Vice-Chair Kristin Beckmann Karla Bigham Sen. Julia Coleman Sen. Scott Dibble Lisa Goodman Marion Greene James Hovland Rep. Ginny Klevorn Rep. Jon Koznick Myron Orfield Renae Pereira-Webb Sen. Lindsey Port Jeff Reed Sam Rockwell Rep. Mark Wiens

Senator Dibble called the meeting of the Metropolitan Governance Task Force to order at 10:03 AM.

Members and staff introductions

All members and staff introduced themselves.

Election of Chair

Senator Dibble nominated Representative Hornstein for the position of Chair and Senator Pratt for the position of Vice Chair. A roll call vote was taken. The results were as follows:

Ayes: Beckmann, Bigham, Coleman, Dibble, Goodman, Greene, Hornstein, Hovland, Klevorn, Koznick, Orfield, Pereira-Webb, Port, Pratt, Reed, Rockwell, Wiens

There being 17 Ayes and 0 Nays, The Motion Prevailed.

Representative Hornstein assumed the gavel.

Nonpartisan Staff Presentation

Chelsea Griffin, Legislative Analyst with the House of Research Department, provided an overview of the enabling legislation and current governance structure.

Task Force Discussion

Members discussed the work before the task force, public engagement, and future meeting topics.

With there being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:05pm.