SUBCOMMITTEE ON MINNESOTA WATER POLICY- STAKEHOLDER MEETING

Remote Information Meeting

MARCH 4, 2022

9:00 AM

Co-Chairs:

Sen. Chris Eaton Rep. John Poston (presiding)

Jim Stark, Director Subcommittee Support: Carol Bisbee

AGENDA

- Call to order/ Approval of Subcommittee
- Presentation: Dr. John Anfinson, National Park Service (retired): St. Anthony Falls (10 minutes)
- Presentation: Dr. Peter Calow: University of Minnesota, Humphrey School)
 Environmental Equity (10 minutes)
- Presentation: Jim Stark—The value of water--an introduction to an LCCMR report by Dr. Bonnie Keeler, UM (10 minutes)
- Legislative Update, Jim Stark (10 minutes)
- Testifiers, if any
- Adjourn



Dr. John Anfinson, National Park Service (retired): St. Anthony Falls



Dr. Peter Calow: University of Minnesota, Humphrey School) Environmental Equity

PRESENTATION

The value of water--an introduction to an LCCMR report by Dr. Bonnie Keeler, UM (Jim Stark)



Legislative Update, Jim Stark Testifiers, if any

BILL DISCUSSIONS

- B1: Sustainable Water: Dr. Tony Runkle and Dr. Harvey Thorleifson (UM/MGS)
- B15: Watershed District Funding: Emily Javens (MAWD)
- B3:Improving Water and Agriculture: Precision Ag: Dr David Mulla (UM)
- B5: Voluntary private well testing: Jeff Stoner (retired USGS; MNWOO)
- B7: Water safety plans for cities— a pilot: Jeff Broberg (MNWOO)
- B8: Soil-health action plan including research, implementation, and outreach
- B6: Identifying vulnerable aquifers— coordinated monitoring
- B9: Water Commission and the Wastewater Advisory Council
- B10: Complete land preservation goals for the Upper Mississippi
- B11: Ensure drinking water free from lead
- B4: Riparian buffer tax credit
- B12: Encourage groundwater recharge where needed
- B 13: Keeping water on the land, water retention: Jim



THANKS

Adjourn