

Working Group on Youth Interventions

Wednesday, November 15th, 2023 Time: 9 AM – 12 PM

Meeting Minutes

Members Present

Jeffrey Lunde, Co-Chair Allen Godfrey, Co-Chair Suwana Kirkland Paula Stocke Jim Schneider Terry Fawcett Joseph Glasrud Heather Goodwin Kathy Hedin Sarah Ellsworth Elliot Butay

Dawanna Witt
Melissa Huberty
Terry Thomas
Lynne Penke Valdes
Nikki Niles
Molly Bruner

Wendy Morton Ashley Solsrud-Beckman Diane Neal

Jasmine Mattison Catherine Johnson

Members Excused

Dylan Warkentin

Millie Hernandez Shana King Nicole Kern

Co-Chair Lunde called the meeting of the Working Group on Youth Interventions to order at 9 A.M. in room 120 of the State Capitol. A quorum was present.

Adoption of Previous Meeting Minutes

Co-Chair Lunde moved to adopt the October 25, 2023 meeting minutes. The Motion Prevailed.

Discussion of Survey and Data Updates

Jackie-Braun Lewis, Head of Analytics for Hennepin County, presented the survey feedback from participants. She also mentions changes in how the data will be collected.

Testimonials

Written testimony provided by James O'Donnell, the Vice President of the Minnesota Juvenile Detention Association and Superintendent of the West Central Regional Juvenile Center. Testimony read by Co-Chair Lunde.

Oral testimony provided by Nick Henderson, the Human Services Director for the Family and Children Services Division in Stearns County.

Oral testimony by Connie Ross, the Residential Programs Administrative Director for North Homes Children and Family Services.

Oral testimony provided by Roy Neumann, the Mental Health Crisis Co-Responder for the Central Minnesota Mental Health Center in Sherburne County.

Oral testimony provided by Malaika Eban, the Executive Director for the Legal Rights Center.

Working Group Debrief

Members shared their key takeaways from the testimonies that were given.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:55 P.M.